Nominate: Global Pluralism Award 2021

Deadline: 30 June, 2020

The Global Pluralism Award (GPA) recognises pluralism in action. Organised by the Global Pluralism Centre (GPC), it celebrates the extraordinary achievements of organisations, individuals and governments who are tackling the challenge of living peacefully and productively with diversity.

Nominees must demonstrate remarkable and sustained achievement in any of the wide range of disciplines related to pluralism. These disciplines include legal reform, human rights, democracy promotion, social cohesion, education, ethnic relations, conflict resolution, peacebuilding, and migration and integration.


  • Three award winners will be given $50,000 each to further their work in support of pluralism
  • Award funds must be used for non-profit activities (award winners will be required to submit a budget with the proposed way in which the funds will be used)


  • Individuals (eg artists, journalists, academics, policy makers, filmmakers, etc)
  • Civil society organisations (eg professional associations, faith-based organisations, labour unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organisations, foundations, think tanks, etc)
  • Social enterprises
  • Corporations
  • Educational, research and policy institutions (public or private)
  • Local/municipal, regional or federal/national branches of governments, etc
  • Nominees must be living (the award cannot be given posthumously)
  • Nominees must not be an agency or employee of any of the Centre’s founding partners, namely the Government of Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN)
  • Individuals and organisations nominated for the award must not have been found guilty of committing violent crimes, terrorism, or other criminal activities, or have publicly held extremist views

To nominate and for more information, click here.

Photo source: Rwanda Government


About the Author