Apply: UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2020

Deadline: 12 July, 2020

Through two prestigious literacy prizes, UNESCO supports effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies to close the literacy gap of approximately 750 million of people.

UNESCO distinguishes between two literacy prizes which are given to five laureates in total.

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (two awards) was established in 1989 and is supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to programmes that focus on the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (three awards) was established in 2005 and is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China. This prize recognises programmes that promote literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.


  • Each prizewinner receives a medal, a diploma and $20,000


  • Governments, non-governmental organisations and individuals who promote literacy through projects and programmes are welcome to apply
  • All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the programme, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO
  • National Commissions and non-governmental organisations in official partnership with UNESCO are encouraged to nominate individuals, institutions and organisations who are making outstanding contributions to promoting literacy and who request a nomination

To apply and for more information, click here.

Photo source: UNESCO


About the Author