Enter: Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award 2020

Deadline: 30 June, 2020

The Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award (ECSPA) for Young Science Journalists is intended to encourage young science writers by recognising outstanding reporting and writing in any field of science.

Now in its 31st year, ECSPA was created to recognise the contributions to journalism of both Evert Clark and Seth Payne. The award is given in memory of Clark, a veteran journalist at Business Week, The New York Times and Newsweek, and Payne, his long-time friend and colleague at Business Week and a founder of the award. It is designed to carry on the work of both men, who offered friendship and advice to generations of young journalists.


  • The 2020 winner will receive $1,000 and all expenses paid to attend ScienceWriters2020 in Colorado, USA


  • The award is limited to non-technical, print and online journalism
  • Articles published in newspapers (including college newspapers), magazines, newsletters and websites are eligible
  • Both freelancers and staff writers are eligible
  • Books, as well as articles in technical journals and trade association publications, are not eligible
  • Science writing includes, but is not limited to, writing in the Biological, Physical, Environmental, Computer, and Space Sciences, along with Technology, Mathematics, Health and Science Policy
  • Applicants must be age 30 or younger (the 2020 award will be limited to those applicants whose 31st birthday is 01 July, 2020, or later)
  • Applications may be submitted by the author or on the author’s behalf
  • All entries must be submitted in English

To enter and for more information, click here.

Photo source: Matt Gibson


About the Author